The Postgraduate Program of Universitas Brawijaya (PPSUB) has been initiated since 1981. It started with cooperation between Universitas Brawijaya and Universitas Gajah Mada to organize UGM Collecting Activity Program (KPK) – UNIBRAW. This program aims to assist Universitas Brawijaya in planning and implementing graduate education independently.

Based on the Decree of the Minister of Education and Culture No. 325 / DII / 1982, KPK UGM-UNIBRAW Program opened Post-Graduate Education (S2) for Agricultural Socio Economic Study Program. Furthermore, based on the Decree of the Minister of Education and Culture No. 348 / D / 1982, Program KPK UGM-UNIBRAW opened Master Program of Plant Science. Postgraduate student registration activity started in UB at the beginning of 1982. In academic year 1985/1986 Program KPK UGM-UNIBRAW opened S2 Program of Land and Water Management based on Decree of Minister of Education and Culture No. 1872 / DK / 1985.

In accordance with the development of the capabilities and facilities owned by Universitas Brawijaya and the requests of the stakeholders in great need, in 1989 opened the interest of Post Harvest Technology, and in 1990 opened the Animal Feed (both in the Master Program of Plant Science); Marketing interest opened in 1990 (in the Master Program of Socio-Economic Socioeconomics).

After eleven years status of KPK UGM-UNIBRAW program, based on the Decree of Directorate General of Higher Education. 104, 105, 106 / Dikti / Kep / 93, since February 27, 1993 Graduate Program Universitas Brawijaya perform its activities independently with three S2 study programs, namely: (1). Agricultural Economics, (2). Plant Science, and (3). Land and Water Management.

With the increasing of undergraduate study program in Universitas Brawijaya, and the increasing number of enthusiasts who want to open new study program, starting from 1995/1996 academic year, Universitas Brawijaya Postgraduate Program opened seven S2 study programs: (1). Post-Harvest Technology Studies Program, (2). Animal Science Program, (3). Management Studies Program, (4). Science Study Program Administration, (5). Biomedical Studies Program, (6). Study Program of Reproductive Biology, (7). Water Resources Engineering Program.

Beginning in 1998 the Graduate Program of Brawijaya University holds S2 study program for Civil Engineering with SK Dirjen Dikti no. 52 / DIKTI / KEP / 1998 dated 23 February 1998 and in 2001 for Mechanical Engineering with Decree of Directorate General of Higher Education no. 91 / DIKTI / KEP / 2001. Then in 2007 opened a master program for Electrical Engineering with SK Dikti no. 1575 / D / T / 2007 dated 29 June 2007.

Based on Decree No. Rector. 030 / SK / 2006 on UB Graduate Program Implementation, starting from 2009/2010 academic year all engineering science courses are managed by Faculty of Engineering UB.

Thus there was a change of name from the Brawijaya University Postgraduate Program (PPSUB) to Master and Doctoral Program of Faculty of Engineering Universitas Brawijaya (PMD FTUB). Then, starting in 2013 along with the development of the situation and the demands of fulfillment of quality assurance in the Faculty of Engineering, all Master’s and Doctoral programs are placed in each appropriate department.